About the SFCC

The Scottish Fisheries Co-ordination Centre (SFCC) was established in 1997 to meet the need for high quality fisheries information and standard data collection methods in the light of a growing awareness of salmonid decline throughout Scotland. 

The SFCC is an association of Fisheries Trusts, District Salmon Fishery Boards, Scottish Government and others interested in the sound management of salmon and freshwater fisheries in Scotland.

The aim of the SFCC is to support its members in collecting, collating, using and providing information on salmon and freshwater fish, their habitats and fisheries, in an effective and co-operative way.


The SFCC provides a mechanism for local fisheries managers and biologists to standardise aspects of data collection and storage. Specialist software development is co-ordinated in a cost-effective way and members are supplied with spatial data relevant to the freshwater environment. 

The SFCC also provides a facility for balanced scientific analysis of available information and encourages informed discussion of fisheries issues for both local management and national policy decisions.

The main aims of the SFCC are to:

  1. Develop general protocols for sampling related to management of all fish species.
  2. Co-ordinate storage of fish data.
  3. Facilitate sharing of GIS-related and other information.

The subsidiary aims of the SFCC are to:

  1. Co-ordinate training related to the main aims.
  2. Facilitate discussion and collaboration among groups of fish scientists.
  3. Facilitate cross-Scotland projects.


SFCC Membership

  Full Members
1 Annan DSFB
2 Argyll Fisheries Trust
3 Ayrshire Rivers Trust
4 Clyde River Foundation
5 Cromarty Firth Fisheries Trust
6 Deveron, Bogie & Isla Rivers Trust
7 Findhorn DSFB
8 Galloway Fisheries Trust
9 Kyle of Sutherland DSFB
10 Lochaber Fisheries Trust
11 Loch Lomond Fisheries Trust
12 Ness & Beauly Fisheries Trust
13 Outer Hebrides Fisheries Trust
14 River Dee Trust
15 Spey Foundation
16 Tay DSFB
17 Tweed Foundation
18 Wester Ross Fisheries Trust
19 West Sutherland Fisheries Trust
  Associate Members 
20 Esk DSFB (Angus)
21 Helmsdale DSFB
22 River Don Trust
23 River Forth Fisheries Trust